sterilizing urologic instruments using formaldehyde or cyanide and innumerable cystoscopes from the incandescent bulb era up to the present fiber-optic systems. Another interesting acquisition is a collection of more than 30 microscopes dating back to the 1700's and books about these instruments. This stunning collection was part of a private urology museum owned by a German urology family. The microscopes are on a long-term loan to the Didusch Center.
The original William P. Didusch Museum (now known as the William P. Didusch Center for Urologic History) was originally housed in the AUA's Baltimore City headquarters building. Upon the association's move to Linthicum, MD in 2003, the museum has evolved into the William P. Didusch Center for Urologic History and taken on new tasks and responsibilities that include a research library and archives. Curator Engel continues to create fabulous historical and educational displays for the AUA Annual Meeting; notable exhibits include The Development of the Cystoscope and the 2004 exhibit Fact, Fraud, Future: Quackery and Nostrums in Urology.